Try TT Now

Managing Versions

Version Rules

  The firm’s administrator sets users’ version rules in TT User Setup. For more information on creating version rules, refer to Using Version Control Rules in the TT User Setup help.   When the user logs in, the version number currently installed on the workstation is checked against the desired version defined in their version rule. If the version does not meet their version rule, TT Update will display a message in the login screen.   The version rule specifies the approved versions for a user. If you need to download, TT Update will always give you the latest ‘approved’ version.   For example, if all versions between 7.17.1 and 7.17.5 are available:  
    • Setting the version rule to “greater than 7.17.2” will download the latest approved version (7.17.5).
 
    • Setting the version rule to “less than 7.17.4” will download 7.17.3.
 
    • Setting the version rule to “between 7.17.2 and 7.17.3” will download 7.17.3.
 
    • Setting the version rule to “equal to 7.17.3” will download 7.17.3.
 

Warn vs Reject

  Version rules can be set to either warn the user or reject their login if they do not meet the version requirements. These “Or Else” actions apply to both upgrades and to downgrades.   If the rule is set to “Warn User”, the user has the option to either perform the upgrade/downgrade, or ignore the message and continue their normal login process. If the rule is set to “Reject Login”, the user must perform the upgrade/downgrade before they can login.

Upgrading to a New Version

  To upgrade a user, the administrator needs to assign a version number that is greater than the user’s current version.   With a “Warn User” version rule, they will be presented with both an “Upgrade” button and the “Login” button. They can choose to perform the upgrade, or continue to login with their current version.     If the version rule is set to “Reject Login”, they will be presented with the “Upgrade” button, and login will be disabled. They must perform the upgrade before they can login.  

Reverting to a Previous Version

  To downgrade a user, the administrator assigns a version number that is lower than the user’s current version. When the user attempts to login, a “Downgrade” button will be displayed. Clicking the downgrade button will then perform the downgrade to the lower version.   For more information on creating version rules, refer to Using Version Control Rules in the TT User Setup help.  

TT Minimum Version

  TT maintains a mandatory minimum version that all users must be on or higher. In addition, the administrator in charge of TT software at a customer firm can also define a minimum version for all of their users. The customer minimum version must be greater than or equal to the TT mandatory minimum version.

Beta Software

  Users can use TT Update to upgrade/downgrade between beta versions and production versions of TT software. Their administrator will configure which specific version they can access at any given time. However, you cannot run both beta and production software on the same machine at the same time.

Comprehensive Beta Agreement

  To be eligible for beta software, the firm must sign a new Comprehensive Beta Agreement. The new agreement removes references to version-specific addendums and allows a firm access to all subsequent beta software. The new Beta agreement expands participation in our beta program and provides easier access to preview our next planned versions.

Identifying Beta Software

  Once the new Beta Agreement is in place, the firm may assign beta software to any end user within the firm. Beta software will be identified to the end user via the:  
    • Login Dialog
 
    • Control Panel
 
    • Help/About screen
 

Sharing a Workstation

  TT Update installs a single instance of X_TRADER per machine. Therefore, TT strongly recommends setting the same version rules for all traders that share a workstation. This prevents traders from accidentally forcing a downgrade/upgrade when a different user uses that workstation.