Try TT Now

Post Installation Tasks

Starting the TT User Setup Slave Server(s)

To start the Slave Server:

  1. From the Server Admin menu on the TT User Setup Control panel, click Server Messages.

    The Server Messages window displays, and allows you to monitor the server's first-time startup.

  2. From the Control Panel, click Administrative Tools and then Services.

    The Services window displays.

  3. Start the TT User Setup service.

Post-Installation Maintenance Procedures

After installing, initially configuring, and starting the TT User Setup Server(s) complete the following maintenance procedures.

Correcting Gateway Login Data

After the initial installation, there may be gateway login records that display in red text. This implies that the login needs to be corrected in some way. For example, if a TTORD record is not mapped to an exchange trader, then it is an invalid TTORD that cannot be used for trading.

Note

The Comments column in the Gateway Logins window provides a description of the potential issue that requires correcting.

The following procedure assumes that the correction being made is for a missing required Account. Any Gateway Login using risk must have an Account assigned.

To correct gateway login data:

  1. From the client application's User Admin menu, click Gateway Logins.

    The Gateway Logins window displays.

  2. In the Comments column type Missing to easily locate the "missing password" string.
  3. Click to highlight the row you want to correct, and click Edit.

    The Edit Gateway Login window displays.

  4. Click Assign Accounts.

    The Assign Accounts to Exchange Trader ID window displays.

  5. Select an Available Account from the list, and using the transfer arrow buttons (>, >>, <, <<), move one or more Accounts from the Available Accounts section to the Selected Accounts section, and click Done.
  6. On the Edit Gateway Login window, click Save.

    The applicable row in the Gateway Logins window will change to black text, the Comments field is cleared, and the Account # field reflects the newly assigned Account.

The following list describes possible gateway login comments:

  • Missing Gateway: An MGT is not associated with any gateways. The MGT cannot be used until a gateway is added. Missing mapped exchange trader: A TTORD is not mapped to an exchange trader. The TTORD cannot be used until it is mapped.
  • TTORD mapped to an invalid Exchange Trader: Occurs because bad data existed in Guardian or because a TTORD and gateway existed in an old TT User Setup, but Guardian didn't contain an Exchange Trader MGT for this TTORD.
  • Missing required password: Only applies to Direct Trader MGTs on Eurex, LIFFE, eCBOT, and ICE. On these gateways, if a user logs in and trades with a Direct Trader ID, the password stored in TT User Setup gets set on the gateway and sent to the exchange. If nobody is logging in with this MGT directly, or if the password is kept blank, then no harm should occur. As a best practice however, it's still a good idea to set this password correctly
  • Mapped Exchange Trader missing password: A TTORD is mapped to a direct trader that is missing a required password. To clear this comment, fix the Missing required password issue as described in the previous bullet.
  • Missing required account (pre-7.17 clients only): A Gateway Login using risk does not have an assigned account. In TT User Setup 7.3 and later, you are not allowed to save a Gateway Login to which you've added risk without also assigning an Account. However, if you upgrade from a previous version of TT User Setup (e.g. 7.1), and an imported TTORD does not have an assigned Account, you will receive the "Missing required account" comment in the Gateway Logins window for that TTORD.

Set Up a Login Failure Message

After installation, TT recommends that you set up a customized login failure message. If a login failure occurs, the user receives a standard message. If the Failed Login Attempt checkbox is checked, the message is appended with the text in the Failed Login Attempt textbox.

To set up a login failure message:

  1. From the Server Admin menu, click System Settings.
  2. Click the General tab.

  3. In the Failed Login Rules section, click the Apply an additional failed login message to users checkbox.
  4. In the text box, edit the default message or create a new message.
  5. Click Save.

Preserving Audit Files

TT Clean automatically purges old files, renames and moves files, and deletes empty subdirectories. By default, TT Chron schedules TTClean to delete any UserSetupDbUpdates log files that are older than 10 days. These files are used by the audit trail in TT User Setup.

If needed, adjust the TTClean settings in the ttclean.ini file on the master server to preserve these files for longer than 10 days. For a detailed description of TTClean, refer to the TT Gateway Architecture System Administration Manual Version 7.X.

Backing up your TT User Setup Database

You should regularly back up the datfiles directory on the TT User Setup Master Server machine. This directory includes the local database (.mdb file) and risk files. To back up the datfiles directory, simply create a copy of the directory and store it on another device in the network.

For additional information on database backup, refer to the topic entitled Restoring Master Server Data from a Backup.

Verifying the Master or Slave Status of a Server

To verify whether the TT User Setup Server is running as a Master server or a Slave server, perform the following procedure.

To view a server's status:

  1. From the TT User Setup Server Admin menu, click TT User Setup Servers.

    The View Running User Setup Servers window displays.

  2. You can also view a server's status by logging into Guardian as an administrator, right-clicking on an active server component (e.g. LOGIN SERVER), and selecting View Status from the context menu.