Try TT Now

TT User Setup

Migrating Users to a New Gateway

You are viewing TT User Setup Version 7.17 and higher. For earlier versions, click here

TT User Setup includes a tool to migrate users from one gateway to another. This is useful when you are adding another flavor of a gateway to your environment (i.e. adding a CME-B Gateway as a backup in an environment that contains a CME-A Gateway), or if a gateway is rebranded (i.e. migrating users that connect to a CBOT-A Gateway to a CME-A Gateway).

When you migrate users, all data related to the source gateway is copied for all the users that are mapped to the source gateway:

  • Customer Defaults: Any gateway-specific customer defaults are copied and saved as a customer default for the target gateway. For example, if the user had a customer default that applied to the source CME-A Gateway, then the customer default is copied and applied to the target CME-Gateway. Market-specific customer defaults are unaltered. The original customer defaults are not deleted during the migration, but can be deleted afterward if needed.

  • Product Limits: Any product limits that apply to the source gateway are copied and saved as product limits that apply to the target gateway. For example, product limits for the source CME-A Gateway are copied and saved as product limits for the target CME-B gateway.

  • MGTs: Any MGTs that a user may have for the source gateway are copied and saved as MGTs for the target gateway. For example, MGTs for the source CME Gateway are copied as MGTs for the target CME-B Gateway.

  • User’s Gateway Login Attributes: All login attributes on this window are copied and saved to the target gateway for the user.

Note: When migrating, you can chose to remove the gateway login information for the original gateway, or you can keep the gateway login information for both the original and the new gateways.

To migrate users to a new gateway...

  1. From the Server Admin menu, select Migrate Users to New Gateway.

    The Migrate Users to New Gateway window appears.

  2. Use the browse buttons to select the Source Gateway (the gateway from which the users will be migrated) and the Target Gateway (the gateway to which the users will be migrated).
  3. Check or uncheck the Delete Gateway Logins related to source gateway checkbox.
    • If the users will retain the gateway login information for the source gateway, leave the checkbox unchecked. This option is typically used when adding additional gateways.
    • To delete the gateway login information for the source gateways, check the checkbox. This option is typically used when gateways have been rebranded.
  4. Select how the Available to User or Available to FIX Client login attributes will be set for the new gateway logins.
    • Select Copy source settings to target to use the source gateway's settings.
    • Select Set all to available (checked) to set the option on for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
    • Select Set all to unavailable (unchecked) to set the option off for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
  5. Select how the Automatically Login login attribute will be set for the new gateway logins.
    • Select Copy source settings to target to use the source gateway's settings.
    • Select Set all to auto (checked) to set the Automatically Login login attribute on for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
    • Select Set all to manual (unchecked) to set the Automatically Login login attribute off for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
  6. Select how the Mandatory Login login attribute will be set for the new gateway logins.

    • Select Copy source settings to target to use the source gateway's settings.
    • Select Set all to mandatory (checked) to set the Mandatory Login login attribute on for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
    • Select Set all to optional (unchecked) to set the Mandatory Login login attribute off for all users that were mapped to the source gateway, regardless of the current setting.
  7. Click Start Update.

You have successfully migrated users to a new gateway.