Try TT Now

TT User Setup

Using Version Control Rules

You are viewing TT User Setup Version 7.17 and higher. For earlier versions, click here

TT User Setup allows a Super Administrator (non-X_TRADER ASP) or TT Adminstrator (X_TRADER ASP) to define rules for which versions of TT software can be used within a trading environment. By using version rules, you can, for example, prevent potential issues related to logging in with X_TRADER® applications that are too old.

For example, to reject logins from X_TRADER versions prior to version 7.8.1.1, you would create a rule that specified that the X_TRADER application must be greater than or equal to 7.8.1.1.

Note: Broker Administrators can edit version rules for their own X_TRADER and X_RISK users only.

When creating rules, consider the following:

  • A user can have only one rule per application.
  • Rules configured for a specific user take precedent over rules configured for all users.

To create a new version control rule...

  1. From the Server Admin menu, select Version Rules.

  2. Click New.

    The New Version Rule window appears.

  3. From the Applies To list, select the user or user group to whom a rule applies. (or select All Users or All User Groups).
  4. From the Application list, select the application to which you want the rules to apply.
  5. From the Operator list, choose from the following:
    • Must be between
    • Must be equal to
    • Must be greater than or equal to
    • Must be less than or equal to
  6. In the Version field, input a version in the following format: 1.1.1.1.

    Note: If the selected application is managed by TT Update, select a TT Client version from the drop-down menu in the Version field.

  7. In the Or Else field, select one of the following:
    • Select Reject a Login if the user's login will be rejected with a message that indicates why the login is rejected.

      Note: If the selected application is managed by TT Update, users will be required to upgrade or downgrade to a version that complies with this version rule.

    • Select Warn User if a message will alert the user to the warning, but login will be allowed.

      Note: If the selected application is managed by TT Update, users will be allowed but not required to upgrade or downgrade to a version that complies with this version rule.

  8. In the Additional Message field, define text that displays after the message that appears indicating the reason the user was warned or had their login rejected.
  9. Click Save.