Try TT Now

X_RISK®

Workspace Setup

Your X_RISK workspace holds a snapshot of your desktop. It records all your open and minimized windows, their spatial relationships, color, font, column/row sizing, placement, selection and saves them so that each time you launch X_RISK, it looks the same way.

Create one or more workspaces to customize X_RISK to fit your trading style and environmental requirements.

Follow these procedures to manage workspaces:

Multiple Workspaces

You can create as many workspaces as you want. Each workspace is saved on your workstation’s hard drive and are retained after an upgrade. Workspace files save to:

<root drive>:ttdatfilesTTCONFIG

The workspace folder is named the same as your workspace.

Use multiple workspaces to:

  • Create separate workspaces for different markets
  • Reflect your changing trading environment
  • Create a workspace that has a preformatted Fill window set to print specific information

Note: If you open a workspace, change it and save it under a different name, the saved and closed workspace retains its settings.

Creating a Workspace

A workspace is just a snapshot of your X_RISK desktop. The procedure below walks you through steps used to customize your workspace. However, what is in your workspace is completely up to you.

To create a personalized workspace:

  1. Set your default visible column preferences using Properties dialog box tabs.

    Tip: If you plan to set up multiple workspaces with the same default columns, save time by setting your default columns and saving them in a workspace (Skip to step 5). Then, continue with step 2 and create your second workspace with your default columns set.

  2. Open the products and windows you want open on your desktop.
  3. Adjust the window sizes, filters, fonts, grids, sounds and colors to your liking.
  4. Adjust the placement of the windows on your screen.

    Note: Your saved workspace remembers the windows you minimize.

  5. From the Control Panel, click the File menu and choose Save As.

    - or -

    From the Control Panel, click the icon.

  6. Type a name for the workspace and click OK.

    Note: Your workspace name must adhere to your Operating System's naming conventions.

You successfully created a personalized workspace. You can reopen this workspace at any time.

Opening a Workspace

When you open a workspace your desktop appears as it was the last time you saved the workspace.

Warning: Save changes in your open workspace before opening a previously saved workspace or all changes will be lost.

To open a previously saved workspace:

  1. From the Control Panel, click the File menu and choose Open Workspace.

    - or -

    From the Control Panel, click the button.

  2. Click the name of the workspace you want to open and click OK.

    If the workspace you open contains a product from an exchange you did not log into, you are prompted to log into that exchange.

    If any part of a workspace is corrupt, an error message informs you not all windows could be opened. The unopened window is deleted from the workspace, and the message does not reappear.

You successfully opened a previously saved workspace.

Deleting a Workspace

To delete an existing workspace:

  1. From the Control Panel, click the Open Workspace button.
  2. In the Open Workspace dialog box, select the workspace you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete.

You successfully deleted an existing workspace.

Saving a Workspace

If you have a workspace open, the workspace name appears in the Control Panel titlebar. Any changes you make save under this name by default. However, if you opened an existing workspace to create a new workspace, make sure you save the new workspace under a new name to retain the settings in your original workspace.

Follow these procedures to save a workspace:

To save a workspace:

  1. From the Control Panel, click the File menu and choose Save Workspace.

    - or -

    From the Control Panel, click the button.

  2. If this is a new workspace, you are prompted to enter a workspace name. If you have a workspace open, changes are automatically saved under the same name.
  3. If the Save Workspace dialog box appears, type a new name for the workspace or select a workspace name to overwrite from the list.

    Note: Your workspace name must adhere to your Operating System's naming conventions.

  4. Click OK.

    If you choose to overwrite a workspace name from the list, you are prompted to confirm.

You successfully saved a workspace.

To save your current workspace under a new name:

  1. From the Control Panel, click the File menu and choose Save As.
  2. In the Save Workspace dialog box, type a new workspace name and click OK.

    Note: Your workspace name must adhere to your Operating System's naming conventions.

You successfully saved your current workspace under a new name.